PVL Commissioner Sherwin Malonzo clarified that the controversial net non-call in the Akari-PLDT semifinal game was not a net fault, as the play was no longer near Ezra Madrigal of Akari.
The incident occurred at a crucial 14-13 count in the fifth set, where Akari eventually won against PLDT, with Madrigal's potential net touch deemed a 'second motion' that did not interfere with the play.
PLDT's coaching staff made an unsuccessful video challenge claiming Madrigal touched the net, which under PVL rules results in a point for the opposing team.
The point was awarded to Akari, leading to a 14-all deadlock before Akari secured the win and a finals berth.
Malonzo cited FIVB rulebook section 11.3.2, which states players may touch the net provided it does not interfere with the play, particularly after the action of playing the ball is complete.
🤖
This story was generated by AI to help you understand the key points. For more detailed coverage, please see the news articles from trusted media outlets below.
News Sources
See how different news organizations are covering this story. Below are the original articles from various Philippine news sources that contributed to this summary.






